Thread: Categories

Thanks

Categories

Hi all

Just want to know if there is a way to import categories into your site instead of having to manually add each category.

Also is there a list of the most widely used categories for Classsifieds sites

Cheers

Marc

Thanks

Re: Categories

How funny you should say that. I was just importing categories into my site this morning.
    There is no easy way of doing it. I presumed there would be a plug in but there isn't. I had to create an sql file and run it into wordpress database through phpmyadmin.
    Would you like some help with that?

Also, regarding the categories, I couldn't find a decent list of categories to copy from elsewhere so I ended up with my own.
    Take a look at my site, have a look at the categories and if you like them I will give you the sql you need to run them in.

Thanks

Hello Ancient Geek. I am also new to this Classipress thing and am struggling to build categories. From a quick look at your site it seems that you have this sorted so was wondering what the trick is. When I click on 'Categories' all I get is a window with a shed load of silly icons which I find less than helpful. I would have thought that there would have been a facility as in WP where one just creates new pages and assigns a name to them. I see that there are loads of other classipress sites with categories so it must be possible. Help!

Thanks

Hello Gerald,
    Quote Originally Posted by Gerald Allan Davie
    When I click on 'Categories' all I get is a window with a shed load of silly icons which I find less than helpful.
    Hehehe, I had the same reaction when I first saw it.

Category management surprised me when I started with classipress until I realised that there isn't any! At least there is no more than Wordpress offers you, so you have to work with that.