Thread: Using user data insted of ad data in displaying contact info

Thanks

Using user data insted of ad data in displaying contact info

I have been running a classifieds site for about 10 years now. I am in the process of shifting the site to classipress from a mysql database. I have a user table with users data like phone, address etc and each time for the ad it is this address that gets used. So while placing an ad he doesn't have to fill in too many details over and over again.

I notice that the post ad form get the phone no and name each time. I would like to change this so that in the form. The phone field and others like address is fetched from user meta and is presented as default value in the form. And if updated it gets updated in the user meta table in wordpress thus actually updating the profile.

I would then like the user data from the profile to be shown as the contact information instead of the contact information from the ad.

I think this would be more straight forward way to go in the future and you can consider it for your coming releases.

Thanks

Re: Using user data insted of ad data in displaying contact info

Agreed. Ideally the user doesn't have to keep filling in the same common info over and over. CP does auto populate name and email address right now though.

Thanks

Re: Using user data insted of ad data in displaying contact info