Thread: General questions

Unregistered

General questions

Hi,

I have an idea for an online business directory but, beyond writing a couple of websites in FrontPage (I know) I have zero experience in this area. I am not even sure what some of the terms mean that you use. So my questions are as follows:

Does Vantage work in the UK? The directory will be exclusively for the UK market to begin with.

Can I use my own domain for the directory (ie www.jaysdirectory.co.uk) or does it have to go through WordPress (ie www.wordpress.com/jaysdirectory)?

Do I have to buy WordPress to use Vantage or is there a free download that can run Vantage? I have no interest in blogging and can't quite understand how a blogging site can be used to run a business directory.

How long between purchasing Vantage and being able to use it?

Can a complete novice use Vantage or will I have to get somebody who knows what they are doing to set the directory up?

If you could answer in simple terms (and assume that I am an idiot) I would really appreciate it.

Thanks so much and look forward to hearing from you, Juliet.

Thanks
    Hi Juliet, in answer to your questions:

1. Yes, Vantage can be used in the UK. You set the region and currency from within the Vantage admin dashboard.

2. Yes, you can use whatever domain name you like, and need your own host account to go with it (you can read about our hosting promotion here). To clarify, our themes cannot be installed on the free WordPress.com blogs.