Thread: Subdomains and other questions

Thanks

Subdomains and other questions

I'm new to WordPress as well as site development and I'm interested in purchasing ClassiPress after the next update comes out......I've got a few questions:

1) Can I use ClassiPress in a subdomain site structure......chicago.abc.com or atlanta.abc.com?

2) In a subdomain structure will the search function target only that specific subdomain or the would it include items under the root domain?

3) Is there functionality to show a link within a posted item, "..see other posts by this person..."? User "XYZ" has 4 posts....a quick way to filter only those 4 posts on the site.

4) What fields will the search function perform searches on? (location, posted title text, posted item description, person doing the posting, etc.).....or what fields wouldn't get searched?

Thanks,

JLC

Thanks

Re: Subdomains and other questions

Hi. I'm also waiting for 2.9 so as to avoid the upgrade process.

I think I can help you with the first 2 questions as I think they are dependent on both your host and WordPress itself...

ClassiPress is nothing more than a theme for WordPress (although a unique one at that). If you want to use multiple sub domains, you would need to create them first, then install WordPress to each one. These would be completely independent of each other and wouldn't be cross-search able. Some basic info here: http://codex.wordpress.org/Installing_Multiple_Blogs

You may get some help from your hosting provider on this... Don't be afraid to ask them, I'm sure they have many customers with multiple blogs.

Hope this helps.

- Dubya
    The search button. Your new best friend.
    - Dubya

Thanks

Thanks for responses to my first two questions Dubya.

Jeff

Thanks

Jeff-

3) Yes. The latest version 2.9 includes a URL field where people can post a link to another site. If you drill down into the authors profile, you'll then be able to see other ads posted by this person.