Thread: What happens to customisations after upgrades?

Not a Verified Customer
    Thanks

What happens to customisations after upgrades?

Like many here I'm impressed with what ClassiPress has to offer, but there are still things I'd like to know before purchasing.

First of all, I'm a Web Designer and have customised many Wordpress themes - although I have never created a child Wordpress theme to date.

I'm reasonably proficient in XHTML and CSS, and ok in PHP. At least good enough to customise existing PHP scripts to do what I require.

So my first question is: what happens to modified ClassiPress themes after upgrading to the next version of ClassiPress?

I presume the core ClassiPress files are seperate to the actual Classipress theme so the core files can be upgraded without overwriting the theme, but what degree of integration exists between them?

My concern is will my customisations be overwritten during the upgrade or cease to function/function irratically afterwards?

Thanks

Re: What happens to customisations after upgrades?

Great Question.

I have been told to use some program that compares files. I am not real happy about that, but I guess it is one way to do it.

I will be looking forward to reading further responses to your inquiry.

tbase

Quote Originally Posted by Mister Phes
    Like many here I'm impressed with what ClassiPress has to offer, but there are still things I'd like to know before purchasing.

First of all, I'm a Web Designer and have customised many Wordpress themes - although I have never created a child Wordpress theme to date.

I'm reasonably proficient in XHTML and CSS, and ok in PHP. At least good enough to customise existing PHP scripts to do what I require.

So my first question is: what happens to modified ClassiPress themes after upgrading to the next version of ClassiPress?