Thread: CP 102

Not a Verified Customer
    Thanks

Smile CP 102

Hi I am new to CP and WP and I do some basic html/ css, but I should admit that I am not sure where to begin with. I am more tables and colors person

I have read posts that if you know what you are doing, it should be easy to customize the design, which is what I would like to do... So I am hoping that I can find support in this group! If anyone is willing to be my guide, I would gladly pay on an hourly or per answer basis (just contact me), and I would not mind posting all this on the forums so that others can use it as a tutorial... So I will begin with the questions:

Installation: How do you install WP/CP so that it shows as the index.html of my website. My website currently gives me an error. You don't have permission to access / on this server" when I just type the base address. And I quickly learned that if I go into settings and change WordPress address (URL), I mess up things so that I have to reinstall WP /CP. I use GoDaddy.

ERROR?: I am not sure if this is due to my incorrect installation or something else, but when trying to post an ad I currently get a message: "Warning: uniqid() expects at least 1 parameter, 0 given in /wordpress/wp-content/themes/classipress/tpl-add-new.php on line 61"

Home Layout: I would like to take away the "featured listings", "just listed", "most popular", and "random" and use that space to highlight a category in a box on the left side of the page, displaying it prominently along with its subcateogiries. On the right I would like to display the rest of the categories (in a craigslist style). So, I have done some reading to figure out I have to modify the master CSS? But looking at that file is intimidating. Where do I start?

Header: how do I decrease the size of the header where my logo sits? There is a lot of wasted space there, I do not plan on having an ad my first page.