Thread: Main Navigation

Thanks

Main Navigation

I am trying to add additional navigational tabs to my main menu. These are the steps that I have done already. I went to the pages menu area, and added the page Title "Grocery" to a new page. Then I went to the menu area to add it to my navigational bar. It did not show up anything. I tried to research it to see what I was doing wrong. So, I went to the drop down help area within our WP backend dashboard.

It referred me to the Wordpress.org Codex. I took me to the Appearance Menu Screen page in WordPress Codex (http://codex.wordpress.org/Appearance_Menus_Screen) page. That page referred me to the Themes php. file. I read the instructions on the WordPress Codex page, which are still unclear to me. I am not a software developer. So, I re-read the instruction again to make sure I have a clear understanding of what they are saying abou php. files. I am not familiar with this function and I am not comfortable make any changes.

Anyway, when I went to the editor page in my backend area to about these changes. I saw this message on this page about your software. Your software clearly states to "Do not modify this theme make a child theme instead. What child Theme? I was not made aware that I needed to install a child them. Also, I need help on trying to figure out this Theme php. file to add new navigational menu's.

How are we suppose to know what to do on the backend for website changes without clear instructions. When I downloaded the software it did not mention a child theme. Will that my job easier? If I add a child theme. I bought this Theme on Jan 4, 2012 without any hesitation. I feel that AppThemes Company is lacking in instructions, videos, and communication with the purchaser. You software makes this statement <?php
    /**
    * Theme functions file
    * DO NOT MODIFY THIS FILE. Make a child theme instead: http://codex.wordpress.org/Child_Themes
    * @package Clipper
    * @author AppThemes
    */