Thread: Upgrade from 3.1.7 to 3.1.8

Thanks

Upgrade from 3.1.7 to 3.1.8

I know this might sound a little remedial, but normally I do an automatic Classipress upgrade with no problems. However, I have made changes to the theme and now if I do an automatic upgrade, it will delete those changes. How do I do a manual upgrade and not lose those changes?
    Thanks in advance.

Thanks
    Hard work my friend.

Thanks
    Hi bkerber
    This is why we recommend using a child theme...
    Have a look at the list of changed files and compare that to your list of customized files. If there are any matches, You'll need to make similar changes to the new versions
    The search button. Your new best friend.
    - Dubya

Thanks
    Thanked 1,756 Times in 1,442 Posts
    Maybe it's because i'm a stupid beginner, but please can someone explain me how a child theme is working? I mean, I do changes in several files (PHP, CSS) inside the child theme. How do the core files work together with the child files? I'm sure there would/could be conflicts between the customized child files and the core files. And if the child files get called to open and handle the website, what is the job from the core files? Specially when the child files are older than the core.

Thanks
    Hi,
    I disagree with the child theme way to upgrade...
    I had same issue in the past no one help me but I try many ways to work then I made it work sample ways to do is from your file manager ( from web hosting admin) change the them name from Classipress to classipress5 (or 2, 7) and upload the new them it will work and not loss your old themes you worked and you can change the times at any time from login in your wp-admin.

Thanks
    Hi samcy.